11 Comments
May 5, 2023Liked by Michelle Elman

My dad told me my face got thinner. I told him I don't appreciate such comments even if they were meant as a compliment. I struggle with body image and do not need reminders of paying attention to my looks.

Expand full comment
author

It's exactly the same for me! I had this the other day, was having a great time (actually eating a cookie!) and someone said I lost weight and I knew they meant it as a compliment but it just made me conscious of my body and what I was eating! No, thank you!

Expand full comment

I really hate being touched when I’m eating so I’ve asked my husband and family not to, they respected it but I knew they thought it was a bit strange, once I explained it’s a sensory overload for me they haven’t mentioned it again and just respect it.

Expand full comment

I am on my second month of a new office job and just finished my tasks for this week while WFH. Instead of jumping into something that had originally been scheduled for next week, I am taking the afternoon to clean, do some self care and read. And I won't feel bad for being "unproductive".

Expand full comment

I said no to plans with a friend; my day was free, I just has a different vision for how I would’ve liked to spend it. I told my friend I want to do it in June, though, and he said sure. It’s going to be my first hike since moving to the UK and I’m so excited.

Expand full comment

Sat down and had a conversation with a partner about how things they had done made me feel and what I would like/need going forward. Conversations like this are really hard for me, I hate them but I was hating feeling unhappy and resentful more. People can't potentially change behaviour if they're not aware of it either.

Expand full comment

In the last year I've been bloating alot after big meals. Whenever my mum sees my bloated stomach she says 'pull it in! It's healthy, remember?' as she's always done. I've recently voiced my concerns to her, how I can't help how my body reacts to food (not like i used to 'pull it in') and asked her to not comment on my body in that way. Feels empowering! Just voicing a boundary, even if she might forget it/keep saying this. :) Small steps <3

Expand full comment

I think my biggest win was realizing that "women don't owe you pretty". I don't wear much make up cause I don't really like it. I don't listen to comments like: "this hairstyle would suit you better" or "those clothes are not complimenting your figure". I decide about what I look like and what feels good to me. As long as I feel good in my skin, that's all that matters to me.

Expand full comment

I take care of my body robustly. Good diet, fasting, exercise, and so on. I believe it looks good really. But for some reason I get people commenting "Why do you fast? Fasting destroys your body." "Humans must eat everything, therefor you are wrong for not eating junk food." "Maybe you have an eating disorder." "My uncle got type A diabetes from doing what you do." People also always say that I look thinner than before, but never thicker, according to their remarks I am skeleton now.

But anyway, I don't mind them.

Expand full comment
deletedMay 5, 2023Liked by Michelle Elman
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

I love that they stuck to it! Proof that it's always worth having the conversation no matter how hard it is! Xx

Expand full comment

I am in SUCH a similar position to you, so much so I could’ve written the first 3 sentences! It is such a difficult position to be in, sending you much love 💕

Expand full comment