12 Comments
author

Mine is a little late because it’s been weeks of hard conversations in my workplace from ending working relationships to starting new ones but it all finally came to a close today! I’m so uncomfortable around anything legal and it was definitely a stretch to remind myself I’m both capable and competent!

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Michelle Elman

I'm finding it difficult to have a conversation with my boyfriend about finances and moving in together. I want for our relationship to last forever (if possible) but I also want to be safe if it were to come to an end in the future.

Expand full comment

I'm finding it difficult to have conversations where I ask for what I need from my partner but without going immediately into "fawn" mode. I try and prepare what I want to say in advance and try to honour my boundaries, but it really triggers me and makes me feel like I'm a terrible person. This weekend I want to talk about taking some breaks/space more intentionally when we have conversations, but I'm scared of the discomfort that comes with that because it can be so extreme.

Expand full comment

I currently have an issue at work with a team lead (not mine) and his way of speaking/ texting me. He is a higher up and my boss does not see an issue with the way that person treats me (they're on same level). I used an Email this guy sent me today and asked my boss to speak about this next week. But raising the issue took me forever. To me it feels like i'm a kid going to my parent and tell them "help me, this person is mean to me".

Expand full comment

Quite a few just now - telling a friend it hurts when she doesn't ask how I am when we meet. Telling my dad I need him to talk to me like an adult, not a child. Telling a lot of people that my time is valuable and when they are consistantly late, last minute or flaky it hurts and makes me feel like I'm not valued.

Expand full comment

I have a slide presentation I need to present Tuesday that I can’t make myself begin. I also need to clean house because I’m hosting a sleepover for my daughter’s dance team this weekend and we’re going to make paper plate jelly fish and paper bag puppets.

Expand full comment

One of my friends was ghosting me for a longer while. Now she tries to gain the spot in my life back. I tried to rekindle our friendship but I realized that her absence made me realize that I don't need her in my life. And I am no longer interested in being her friend. Can't bring myself to tell her that.

Expand full comment