12 Comments
Jun 16, 2023Liked by Michelle Elman

I got to a point this week where I was so exhausted and burned out from work stress that I was crying before work every day, and getting home and collapsing. So I called my doctor and she immediately signed me off work for two weeks. I’m using the time to rest, so kind things for myself and generally listen to my body.

Expand full comment
author

Enjoy the two weeks off! You deserve it!

Expand full comment
Jun 16, 2023Liked by Michelle Elman

Have had a very stressful couple of weeks and busy weekends, so have blocked off this weekend to rest, and told everyone I am unavailable. Going to put the phone on airplane mode and do nothing!

Expand full comment
author

I’ll be joining you on airplane mode!

Expand full comment
Jun 16, 2023Liked by Michelle Elman

I usually go for a run a few times a week, but I had a busy and exhausting holiday last week so for my first run back, instead of setting myself my usual distance goal, I took it easy and just ran for as long as I felt comfortable because my priority was just getting back out there and moving my body. Especially because I use Strava to track my runs, I can get a bit caught up in the numbers or what others will think, but I made a point to just run and not make it about the stats! It was also sweltering outside, so definitely a good call so I didn't pass out!

Expand full comment
author

Way to listen to your body!

Expand full comment
Jun 16, 2023Liked by Michelle Elman

Currently in Barcelona and not feeling my best. Still sightseeing but taking a lot more breaks to just sit and drink some water

Expand full comment
author

Make the holiday perfect for you! ❤️

Expand full comment
Jun 16, 2023Liked by Michelle Elman

I should be in a choir concert on Saturday night, but at the rehearsal last night I felt so incredibly unwell and uncomfortable that I have dropped out.

It’s just the heat I think, but that’s unlikely to improve for tomorrow so I’m going to just have a quiet evening at home, hydrating in the dark.

Expand full comment
author

Good call! You can’t enjoy it if you are feeling unwell anyway ☺️

Expand full comment

Today I went to see a guy I had been casually dating and who was about to move away to see if he would be interested in dating properly after feeling intense feelings that felt repricated. Circumstance was the deal breaker but I'm proud of myself for shooting my shot and getting "the close to the chapter" I deserved

Expand full comment

I’ve had a lot going on with a couple of unwell relatives. I had family expecting me to go above and beyond. I’ve stuck to what I can do and explained what I’m able to do. Some people didn’t react well at first but they have ended up respecting it and I’ve explained to those going above and beyond that they need to look after themselves as well. I didn’t push it, just planted some seeds with gentle comments and sympathy and they’ve realised that it is important for them too.

Expand full comment